WiSE banner


The Athena SWAN Charter recognises and celebrates good employment practices for women working in SET in higher education and research.  The University of Lincoln signed the Charter in July 2008, and is hence committed to the six Athena SWAN principles

Before individual schools are eligible to apply for a recognition award (Bronze, Silver or Gold) the university must hold at least a Bronze institutional award.

Professor Belinda Colston is leading our application for a Bronze Award in 2012, and will be working closely with a cross-discipline committee, supported by Professor Sara Owen, Professor Andrew Hunter and Professor Paul Stewart. The committee is charged with building a University Action Plan, essential to the application process. We look forward to effective collaboration across Schools and Colleges.

SWAN (Scientific Women’s Academic Network) is jointly owned by the Equality Challenge Unit (ECU) and the UKRC, and funded by the ECU, the RS, The Biochemical Society and the Department of Health.

The Athena SWAN Charter, launched in 2005 with ten founder university members (including Oxford, Cambridge, Imperial and University College London), made its first SWAN awards in 2006. Membership of the Charter has continued to grow (76 members in 2012), along with the number of applications for SWAN recognition awards at both university and departmental level.

What is Athena SWAN?